Section Leadership Team

The ASQ Greater Houston Section 1405 Section Leadership Team is comprised of volunteers from our organization that are committed to making a difference in the professional development of area quality professionals.  Without their dedication and support, Greater Houston Section 1405 would not be able to provide the services and programs that everyone enjoys.
 
The Section Leadership Team has four elected positions, Chair, Chair-Elect and SMP Chair, Section Secretary and Section Treasurer.  For more information on these positions and annual elections, please contact the Nominating Committee.  
 

Elected Positions:

 Position   Description of Responsibility   Email Address  Current Position Holder 
 Chair Oversees all aspects of section management & member leader activities  chair@asqhouston.org

 

Jami Kovach

 ViceChair  Responsible for the business plan for the section & assists the Chair/section, as needed  vicechair@asqhouston.org

Vijai Venkata 

 Secretary  Documents section business & maintains records for the section  secretary@asqhouston.org 

Valentine Boving

 Tresurer  Tracks & accounts for all financial transactions to support section business  treasurer@asqhouston.org 

  

Patricia Shepard-Fiala

 

Committees 

 Committee   Description of Responsibility   Email Address 
 Arrangments  Plans & executes all logistical aspects of section meetings/events including venue, food, registration, etc.  arrangements@asqhouston.org
 Chief Proctor  Oversees the local administration of ASQ certification exams, etc.  chiefproctor@asqhouston.org
 Community  Outreach  Plans & executes volunteer events for section members to give back to our community in various ways (science fair judges, toy for tots, etc.)   communityoutreach@asqhouston.org
 Conference  Plans & executes ASQ Houston Regional Quality Conference  conferencechair@asqhouston.org
 Education  Plans monthly tutorial sessions & oversees the certification refresher & other courses offered through the section  education@asqhouston.org
 Membership  Works to retain current members & attract new members to ASQ/section  membership@asqhouston.org
 Programs  Plans & executes all aspects of tutorial & dinner presentations for monthly meetings & other events such as plant tours, etc.  programs@asqhouston.org
 Recertification  Assists members with the re-certification process  recertifications@asqhouston.org
 Sponsorship  Works to retain current sponsors & attract new sponsors to provide members with access to products & services to assist in their professional development  sponsorship@asqhouston.org

 

Other Committee/Positions 

 Commitee/Position   Description of Responsibility   Email Address 

 Audit

Reviews financial transactions supporting section business & periodically reports on these activities to ASQ headquarters  ---

 Communications  

Maintains website, compiles newsletter & sends event announcements/ reminders to section members – planning to expand use of social media soon! communications@asqhouston.org
 Historian  Documents the history of section activities, events, etc.  ---
 Nominations  Leads the process for nominating section leaders for elected positions nominations@asqhouston.org 
 Student Branch Oversees all aspects of student branch management & activities (we currently have ASQ student chapters at UH and Lone Star Community College)      studentbranch@asqhouston.org
 Volunteer  Recruits & places volunteers in positions/committees for the section volunteer@asqhouston.org 
 Voice of the    Customer  Listens to the needs of section members & obtains feedback to improve section activities, events, etc.  voiceofthecustomer@asqhouston.org 
 Webmaster 

Maintains section website 

webmaster@asqhouston.org